Not a CBA Member? Join Now!
Find A Lawyer Directory
Legal Directory

Gary McPherson Award

Arash Jahanian selected as 2015 Recipient

Nomination form for the 2016 award: ttp://

The CBA Young Lawyers Division is looking for nominations for the 2016 Gary McPherson Award for Outstanding Young Lawyer of the Year. Each year the YLD recognizes a young Colorado lawyer for his or her outstanding contributions to the legal profession and the community.  The winner will be honored at a dinner hosted by the YLD Executive Council in December.   

The award is presented in honor of Gary McPherson, a Colorado state representative who was killed in a plane crash at the age of 37.  McPherson was a devoted public servant who was active in the bar association and the Young Lawyers Division.  A memorial published by the state house of representatives recognized that “Representative McPherson loved politics and serving this state, and he will be remembered as one of the General Assembly’s most highly regarded and popular members; . . . [he] was an honorable, hardworking public servant who was respected by both Republicans and Democrats.” Gary McPherson was named Outstanding Young Lawyer of the Year in 1993.  After his death in 2000, the award was renamed in his honor.

Eligible persons are those who are members in good standing of the CBA, and who are 37 years or younger or who have been practicing law fewer than five years. Nominees should have an outstanding record of professional success, community service achievements, and a strong commitment to civic participation and inspiring others, whether within the legal profession or elsewhere.